Grab Your Wallet: A New Texas Law is likely to raise your car insurance rates
Posted: 01-02-11Category:A new car insurance law went into effect Saturday that could make your insurance rates jump. The new law increases the minimum liability coverage in Texas from $25,000 to $30,000 for each person injured in an accident and raises the total liability limit per accident from $50,000 to $60,000. That translates to a roughly 3 percent increase in premiums for drivers carrying the required minimum liability insurance coverage. The new law leaves the minimum amount required for property damage per accident at $25,000. The new law does not affect the limits of other optional coverages such as uninsured motorist coverage.